Samarth Vyas becomes fifth batsman to score double century in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Samarth Vyas Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022: Saurashtra’s Samarth Vyas on Sunday became the fifth batsman to score a double hundred in the Vijay Hazare Trophy after smashing 200 off 131 balls against Manipur in an Elite Group A match. With this, Samarth Karn joined the list of double centuries along with Veer Kaushal, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson and Prithvi Shaw. Overall, it was Vyas’s third List-A century.

The 26-year-old Vyas shared an opening stand of 282 with Harvik Desai, who scored a 107-ball 100, helping Saurashtra post 397 for 4. In reply, Manipur were all out for 115 and Saurashtra registered their second straight win in the competition.

The Jaydev Unadkat-led side began their campaign with a seven-wicket win over Chandigarh on Saturday, with Vyas scoring a 64-ball 61 in their chase of 216.

Vyas has been in excellent form in recent times. He topped the run charts (314 runs in 7 innings at a strike rate of 117.40) for Saurashtra in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 earlier this month, where they made it to the semi-finals. Overall, he was the fifth-highest run-scorer in the tournament, just 49 runs behind list-topper Yash Dhull.

News Reels

In terms of records, Ajinkya Rahane’s 187 for Mumbai against Maharashtra in 2007-08 remained the highest individual tally in the tournament for almost a decade before Kaushal from Uttarakhand crossed the 200-run mark against Sikkim in the 2018-19 season. A was the scorer. Since then, the tournament has seen four other double hundreds, including Vyas’s one on Sunday. However, Shaw’s 227 not out for Mumbai against Puducherry last season still remains the highest score.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *